<span class="highlight">cooper</span> st's

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:09
ThreadID: 59799 Views:5318 Replies:20 FollowUps:38
Ive lost 3 cooper st's to sidewall punctures in the last 18 months. Never the tread. All unfixable. Recently did Simpson Desert. Lost one on the road from Mt Dare to Dalhousie Springs. Serious corrugations, all rock. The next on the Birdsville track 3 k's short of Mungerannie. Almost stone free, except along edge. Fortunately they had a tire there. The other one was a 'blue metal' road at Aire river. Just got back yesterday. Intend to speak to coopers. (not holding my breath) I know this subject has been done to death, but I'm looking for serious, informed suggestions re: decent tires, not inane comments. All occasions rear tires at land rovers recommended tires pressure, 34 psi. I may be demented, but on rock/ordinary trails I'm loath to let them down exposing more of the bagging sidewall. Tires?? over to you, David

Reply By: samsgoneagain - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:41

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:41
go with the norm - BF's go good
AnswerID: 315495

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:58

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 20:58

I bet if you asked everyone who had lost tyres to side wall damage you would get a diverse list of tyres.

Yes, I lost a 300 km old Cooper ST to a side wall puncture, but then I have lost other tyres as well to the same fate.

I don't believe any of the common brands are more resistant to side wall damage. I would have to say though that 34 psi sounds very low for a rear tyre on a laden vehicle. They must get very hot with all that side wall flexing. I run mine at about 45 psi on gravel/bitumen.
AnswerID: 315499

Follow Up By: lovely - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:07

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:07
Bob, thanks. My inclination too. After the event of course. David
FollowupID: 581653

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 18:24

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 18:24
34psi sounds right to me, i have never had more than 32psi on fully laden vehicle with camper trailer, done many thousand out back ks and never had a puncture on 4 sets of tyres on both vehicle and camper. I would hate to travel in a vehicle with high pressures. Col
FollowupID: 582158

Follow Up By: lovely - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 18:43

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 18:43
Col, thanks, I'm getting LT's. Contrary views have thrown me a bit as to pressure. See how much side wall is hanging out. David
FollowupID: 582161

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 18:55

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 18:55
Lovely, one of the set of 4 tyres i used was the st, i thought they where great on the dirt but i found they wore very quickly on the bitumen. I now use the ozzy made bridgestones and get about 20,000ks more, and they are about $50-$60 cheaper and keeping the dollars at home. Col
FollowupID: 582162

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 06:26

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 06:26
I have a Nephew, who runs his Cooper ST's at 55 psi.
When he told me I nearly fell over,, bleep I said,,, why ?.. and his reply was that his mates did, so he gave it a try..

Fact

The sidewalls are distorting, and Mr Cooper told him that it was normal as that is where the protective sidewall ply joins..
So much for the truth ever being told, by a Company executive/importer..

I have got 34 psi, hot.. on the new ( second-hand ) truck, on Cooper ST's..... just to see the difference it makes
The previous owner, had 34 cold in them, and still the sidewalls warped..

My Cooper ST's were down to 15 ( loaded ) when we were up in the Desert last time.. Never above 25 on thousands of K's of gravel , and they survived

What pressures then ?

Apparently Cooper's warp at any air pressure !

The facts are there

Makes tyre decision a little harder..but will not be Cooper's

FollowupID: 582385

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:04

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:04
On dirt and gravel i run at 28 psi and travel a bit slower about 80kmh. The lower speed prevents heat buildup in the sidewall.
The lower pressure allows the tyre to mould around rocks rather than have them punch through it. I have seen this proven in demonstrations and it does work. Apart from that it also gives a softer ride over the rough stuff which is easier on the vehicle and passengers.

I have just today had my 3rd set of Cooper S/T's fitted, the set i just replaced had 104,000k's on them. Intalled 4 years ago at 237,000ks now have 341,000 k's on the clock.

I have never staked a sidewall. In fact the only puncture i had was when i ran over a woodscrew which i assume i picked up in my carport after doing some work in there.

These tyres have taken me to The Darling River Run and up to White Cliffs. Innamincka via the Strzelecki and Bore tracks. Numerous bush tracks on the NSW south coast. Stockton Beach and many more offroad destinations and is also the daily driver.

This is not an inane comment but my real world experience with coopers. I was thinking of going BFG this time just so i could say i have tried both, but i couldn't bring myself to do it after the great runs i have had with coopers. Its a lot of money to throw into an experiment, i already know what to expect from the coopers.
AnswerID: 315501

Follow Up By: lovely - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:15

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:15
waynepd. Thanks for your comments. I did not mean to offend any serious 4x4 drivers, but have been reading the forum for a while and not commenting, because sometimes I think there is a deal of nonsense talked by a few people. The nature of forums I guess. Even 4x4 mags. thanks, David
FollowupID: 581654

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:23

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:23
No offence taken David,
As is normal there will be as many opinions and experiences as there are contributors to a thread.

I have seen a brand new 24hr old BFG on a GQ Shorty blow a sidewall from running over a small rock hidden in long grass at 10 kmh. This was an unladen vehicle with just 2 guys in it doing Patrol Club Training getting into position to air down before training even started.

That was my first impression of BFG's
FollowupID: 581660

Follow Up By: Cruiserman1961 (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 05:44

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 05:44
Hi David,
I tend to agree with Wayne on this one. Letting the tyres down and reducing the travel speed does seem to do the trick just nicely. I used to drive a semi for 15 years and as a truckie this procedure seems a bit strange at first. Makes sense though, you will just have to experiment a bit taking the vehicle and load and also the surface into consideration.
I used to run my Cruiser at about 28 psi and never had a puncture.
Happy traveling David :)
Cheers, Udo
FollowupID: 581712

Reply By: RustyHelen - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:08

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:08
Two sets of ST's on the NM and as soon as I can I will put them on the NS.
And not kid gloved. Vic high country, Tanami Track, Canning etc.
Never a flat, never a sidewall puncture. Doing the Canning over the "breakaways" we were down to 5 kms/hr so taking it easy.
To my mind still the best option but that is just for us and what we do.
Rusty
AnswerID: 315505

Follow Up By: lovely - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:18

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:18
Rusty, great to get some positive feedback. These forums do have some value. Thanks, David
FollowupID: 581657

Reply By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:17

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:17
Had S/T's on my Hilux for a trip out through White Cliffs, Innamincka, Gammon and Flinder's Ranges. Dropped pressures and speeds to suit. Never had a puncture with that set. Running S/T's on the GU now. Had them on for about 50,000. Some minor lug damage on two of them (both replaced under warranty without any hassles) and a couple of punctures due to wood screws.

Would I go Coopers again. Most probably. Am happy with the way they are wearing and happy with my experiences on two vehicles.

But if you treat your tyres with respect (ie correct pressures and speed according to terrain) then any brand should last except in absolute extreme conditions.
AnswerID: 315509

Follow Up By: lovely - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:28

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:28
Sam, thanks for your interest. I'm starting to see the value of the forum. Perhaps you can see my my concern after 3 punctures I can't fix. I didn't relish having no spare in the Simpson, although the sand was the most forgiving. Added to this I stripped the splines on the steering, which I managed to temp fix enough to get me home, for which I thank my luck stars. David
FollowupID: 581664

Follow Up By: willo82 - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 03:30

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 03:30
hey lovely
were your cooper st's the light truck 10 ply? i'm putting a set on mine on thursday and i'm a bit worried
FollowupID: 581710

Follow Up By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 07:49

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 07:49
3 staked side walls would be a concern and I can certainly understand your hesitation to go back to Coopers, but at 34 PSI I think you would have puncture issues with any brand of tyre under certain conditions and speed. Land Rover may recommend 34, but is that for hard top bitumen driving?

I usually run with about 40 PSI in mine when on black top, but the minute i leave the black top, down come the pressures to around 25, down to around 14 in sand and also drop the the speed accordingly and have never had a puncture yet due to stones or sticks (touch wood!!!)

Anyhoo though, I hope you have a better run with what ever brand you decide to roll with next!

FollowupID: 581722

Follow Up By: lovely - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 08:01

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 08:01
Sam, thanks, David
FollowupID: 581726

Reply By: Steve - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:21

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:21
Well did you expect anything else from a seriously expensive tyre thats not up to the punishment? Dont you read the comments by other users on this site ? Have you not seen the Coopers tyres in the outback all over the place shredded and stuffed ? or maybe you just a novice ? Pay mega bucks for a 'tyre' and they will give you all sorts of guarantees ..dont forget the wheel alignment one !!.. and if a few here and there wise up to the fact they are being had ...well give them a pro rata set and they will be happy !! YOU WERE HAD !!! Just move on ..
AnswerID: 315510

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:27

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:27
Now i am curious Steve
How much are BFG's fitted and balanced these days. 285/75/16 for example
FollowupID: 581663

Follow Up By: lovely - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:41

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:41
I'm not novice. I'm 63 years old and have been a professional driver all my adult life. This kind of abuse is exactly what I was referring to when I made the comment a "inane" on this forum. Fortunately there are others who have intelligent comments for which I thank them. You will no doubt be glad I'm signing off so you can continue with your childishness, Your a sad man? David
FollowupID: 581669

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:49

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:49
Steve,
A seriously expensive tyre eh?
I just found a price for BFG AT at $289
Site Link
I paid $294 for Coopers today so there goes that one up in smoke mate mine were 5 bucks dearer
FollowupID: 581670

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 07:36

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 07:36
Waynepd'
I paid $320 for my MTZ's so that would make the Coopers look cheap so don't know what Steve is on about. Lovely, I had Coopers on before these and got 95000km out of them on sum pretty rough tracks with only a couple of lugs chipping off.
Cheers Dave...
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 581720

Reply By: Kroozer - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:42

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 21:42
I have done 3 Sts also but in the space of 2 days. All at around 34psi on 2003 Prado. All on the first 50km section of the Gibb Road at the El Questro end. Never got them replaced, straight to Bridgestone Duelers 693. Never been let down by them yet, and have never even adjusted pressures, they stay at 40psi cold. Was travelling with another car at the time and he didnt experience any flats with the Bridgestones. Tyre issues really are a touchy subject, everyone is different and all tyres are better at some things then others. Coopers get good mileage i know that.
AnswerID: 315513

Follow Up By: lovely - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 22:05

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 22:05
Kroozer, thanks. All contributions greatfully noted. Yes there seems no tire does everything. I didn't expect them to, but can only go on my personal experience, David
FollowupID: 581675

Reply By: Member - G N (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 22:13

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 22:13
I too was sucked in with the cooper BS, i ran them for 30 000km and was wrapped, i said i would never buy any other tyre as they handled well and still looked like new. Then 10 000km trip on some gibber and they were stuffed, 2 were totaled, left one behind with serious cracks right through the tyre on the tread, another that was cracked also but did get a waratee claim woopy, the other 2 were missing lugs every where, some down to wire!
NEVER again.
Put a set of Goodyear MTR's on, have done similar trip over worse gibber and more miles with a little chipping, no lugs missing, no cracks, no stuffed tyres and much less side wall bulge.
These are real tyre and many station blokes running them when mustering through scrub etc swear by them.
I guess many will carry on and say jksvbkwevbkwe but where do they take them?
If i had stuck to the bitchi, sand or clay country i would still say coopers are ok i guess,
MTR's are a bit noisy but so what, turn up the music or enjoy the noise.
GN
AnswerID: 315519

Follow Up By: lovely - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 22:30

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 22:30
Gn, thanks. Noise doesn't worry me. Sidewall punctures do. I'm happy to fix a tire, but the unfixable?? taking all the replies on board. David.
FollowupID: 581685

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 09:46

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 09:46
Further to my comment below, none of mine were "fixable" either.
FollowupID: 581742

Reply By: Splits - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 22:16

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 22:16
I don't suppose your tyres are passenger construction instead of light truck? STs come in both types. There was a case on another site recently of someone fitting the wrong type and loosing most of them.

Can you give us a bit more information? What type of Land Rover is it? What is the tyre size, what load is it carrying and what speed do you travel at?

AnswerID: 315521

Follow Up By: lovely - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 22:32

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 22:32
Hi, Brian, Will get back with info. thanks, David
FollowupID: 581686

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 00:25

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 00:25
David, this may help
S/T Specs Passenger and LT Construction
As you can see the Passenger Construction comes in only certain sizes of S/T's
FollowupID: 581705

Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 22:53

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 22:53
I had Cooper STs, they failed on the vehicle, I put the remaining tyres on the camper trailer, & they failed there too.
NEVER AGAIN!
AnswerID: 315529

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 23:04

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 23:04
Hi David,

I'm on my third set of Coopers STs.

2 sets on the ute and I've just fitted a set on the GU I bought.

Oh and a set of Coopers SLE's on the Forester. My mechanic runs ST's after many years of BFG problems and uses his Patrol pretty much only on trips. He reckons this is the first set of tyres he's actually worn out rather than replaced prematurely.

Most of my mates at work and others I go off road with use either ST's, ATR's or STT's.

I know of a few who have had no problems getting tyres replaced under Coopers warranty including myself even after I agreed it was probable that the tread block damage was due to the rocky track's I'd recently been scrabbling up.

I always run light truck construction. I always drop pressures off road and return to highway pressure on bitumen. The LT's don't bag much and you get your traction advantage in longer tread exposure.

I've never (touch wood) had a puncture though I have discarded one after a side wall got gashed somewhere, it was still up, god knows how long it had been like that as I only found it when it was up on the hoist.

We had one on my mates when a tyre wore a 1/8" bit of mulga in the side wall on the Canning. It was fire hardened from a scrub fire and would have gone through anything, it was like a 1/8" drill bit! That said it was plugged in 5 minutes and was still on the front when we got to Perth 2500km later.

I'll still be buying Coopers for my next set for both our vehicles and I've factored two sets into the lease on the Patrol.

I tend to take mine off at about 40%-50% tread and keep them as extra spares for running on campers or taking on trips. I can't see the point of running off road tyres off road until they are near bald. I have swapped both sets out at about 40,000km with that sort of tread left to go. The worst of the collection in the garage corner get chucked or given to someone who needs one as they accumulate.

Stick with them, but go the LT. Much better tyre for not much more $.

AnswerID: 315530

Follow Up By: lovely - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 07:21

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 07:21
Dave, thanks. All information gratefully received. David
FollowupID: 581717

Reply By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 23:30

Tuesday, Jul 15, 2008 at 23:30
If the road is too rough with hard corrugations, root, rocks.... I don't really let the tyres down much.

I lost three tyres in the weeks following a visit to Fraser Island. Sidewall damage....

I have 12.5 inch tyres.. so wide and nice on sand etc..... but to the disapproval of many 4wd experts.... I don't deflate unless I'm in really had going.
AnswerID: 315536

Reply By: PATROL_ST_2004 - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 00:01

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 00:01
Hi David

Land Rover recommended tire pressure is for the factory fitted tires or any passenger tire , Cooper ST's are a light truck tire and should be run at a higher tire pressure at around 40 psi. By running your tires at 34 psi you are overheating your tires and so the first place the tires will fail is in the side wall. 40 psi is a firmer ride but you will not just get cooler tire temperatures but also less drag which will increase fuel economy.

See you in the bush, Rob
AnswerID: 315537

Reply By: Visitor - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 00:02

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 00:02
Blow up a balloon tight and push a stick into it and it will burst.....
Half deflate it and do the same and the stick will not pop the balloon...
Tyres are the same theory...
At 34psi on dirt rocky roads you will have punctures....
Its a no brainer....
22psi and drive to the conditions...
Slow down for dips especially as that is where most of the flats come from on dirt roads because of the downforce onto rocks with a compressed suspension...
Even 4x4's with airbags have a higher rate of punctures because the bags dampen the compression...
Drive to the conditions and prepare your tyres to the right pressures and then if you get repeated flat tyres then have a whinge...
AnswerID: 315538

Follow Up By: lovely - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 07:16

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 07:16
Thanks to all for the advice. I have the passenger rated St's as 235/70/16,is the correct size for my car, disco. It appears that the closest light truck is made in 245/75/16. I've considered 75 height tires, but avoided it so far as the gearing changes as well as the speedo. This tire is made specifically for a 4 wheel drive that is by it's nature is intended to go off road?? As for tire pressures?? I have received contrary views, so I'm going to have to go with my own gut feeling on this. As to speed I'm a very conservative driver (old Age) I impressed by the argument about the balloon, but having the sidewall bagging out the side even more concerns me. Slow speed is good I know. Whilst I accept that driving to the conditions and the right tire pressures it the right philosophy, I still need to be convinced of the right tire pressure for the conditions. This I know is up to my own judgment. As to' whinging', I think I have a legitimate concern. It's no use me whinging when I'm in the back of beyond looking for the third spare tire. thanks. David
FollowupID: 581715

Follow Up By: Visitor - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 09:36

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 09:36
Let me reiterate lovely....

When i said "whinging",,, it wasnt fully directed at you...
Just in general of "all" the tyre killers out there that puncture tyres when they didnt really need to due to pressure and driving problems,,, then blame certain brands....
FollowupID: 581741

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 13:47

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 13:47
David,
I meant to mention before this that at 28 psi the walls on the LT tyre don't seem to bag out that noticeably. The tyre is softer but still stands fairly tall.
It would seem that your problem comes from running the passenger tyre in a Light Truck tyre situation.
If you need to maintain that size and its not available in Cooper as a LT then that is a valid reason to seek another brand.

I am sure that all the "shredded tyre carcases that are scattered all over the outback" and are of course Coopers and no other brand are the victims of poor tyre management rather than poor quality tyres.

Good luck with your decision and i hope this thread you started has helped you.

FollowupID: 581768

Follow Up By: Off-track - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 23:54

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 23:54
Sorry Visitor but I tend to disagree on the balloon analogy - to a point anyway. The tread area of the tyre is normally much thicker and stronger than the sidewalls and are by and by fairly resistant to rock punctures.

Letting the tyres down will of course increase tread area flexibility over rough ground but as a by-product it will expose the thinner and therefore weaker part of the tyre exposed to rocks.

It's all a balance of mass/speed/size/pressure.
FollowupID: 582377

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 06:36

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 06:36

Tyres are expendable items. You just have to live with that fact.
Pumped 50psi or pumped 30psi you are bound to find a sharp object on the track or road surface just at the wrong moment. There are pros and cons, for and against, tubeless tyres and the same applies to tubed tyres

My journey with Cooper Tyres is well documented in the Archives here. But I did take them into Extreme Country and they are not designed for that application.

I have reverted back to 'low mileage' crossply tyres on split rims for half the cost of tubeless tyres and the result is good.

AnswerID: 315549

Follow Up By: lovely - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 07:18

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 07:18
thanks Willem, Good thought, David
FollowupID: 581716

Follow Up By: narned - Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 00:22

Friday, Jul 18, 2008 at 00:22
And i thought i was the only one, sorry to tell you all , but for dirt roads and heavy loads , nothing beats the old skinnies on splits ,might not look good but nor do we after changing tyres ,as for brands its personal choice,me i dont like coopers ,i like bridgies So Cheers Willem Regards Ned
FollowupID: 582059

Reply By: mfewster - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 12:54

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 12:54
I think Visitor's comments are spot on and the example he gives illustrates the point prefectly. The key factor is the amount of pressure that is applied to the point of impact. Higher tyre pressures concentrate all that weight onto a very small point = much greater chance of penetration. Push your foot down onto one pointed up nail=ouch. Spread this over a wide area like the fakirs bed of nails trick. No problem. For a detailed discussion of the high pressure V low pressure debate check Joel Flemings website. The tyre is not the problem. Any tyre run at high pressure is more likely to be damaged off road. Yes, heat build up is an issue but this is a factor of speed and low pressure. Simply reduce your speed as you reduce pressure. And save fuel and increase safety at the same time.
AnswerID: 315585

Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 13:48

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 13:48
G'day David
This post was bound to bring out the anti Cooper brigade in droves and a few have appeared. Amazing how biased some can be.
It appears that the problem has been identified - passenger tyre construction instead of LT. So unless you're willing to change to LT then the problem will persist irrespective of the pressures you run. Simply because the passenger construction is not really meant for off tar use.
Incidentally I had Coopers for yonks and never had any side wall dramas over many kms of offroad stuff - but they were LTs. And to make full disclosure I only switched to Goodyears due to a price difference of around $50 per tyre. Goodyears not wearing as well to date so may prove to be a false economy after all.
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 315593

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 15:25

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 15:25
Hi Moose, Don't knock genuine personel experience, that is what was asked for in the first place.

FollowupID: 581785

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 15:45

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 15:45
The main reason for bias ... is bad experience.

My Coopers were Light Truck construction, pressures were as recommended by the main Cooper distributor in Victoria, not the retailer.
FollowupID: 581790

Follow Up By: Moose - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 16:38

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 16:38
Kiwi Kia - not knocking genuine personal experience - just saying that some responses are very biased against Coopers. It appears some will forgive other manufacturers but not Cooper Tires.

Shaker - I wasn't pointing the finger at anyone in particular, nor to any particular responses to this thread. It simply appears to me that whenever a Cooper tyre problem is discussed then some really anti statements emerge - they appear to almost subscribe to some sort of conspiracy theory on the part of Cooper Tires.

In your case perhaps the main Cooper distributor gave you the wrong info.

I have always made my own decisions regarding tyre pressures as I fail to see how anyone else knows what load I'm carrying at any given time, what the road/track conditions are like, what the temperature is, how fast I'm travelling etc.

As you can see from the responses to this thread there are satisfied owners as well as those who have experienced problems. So Cooper tyres can't be all bad.

I wonder why Coopers seem to polarise people so much?

Cheers from the Moose and may your tyres, whatever brand they are, remain inflated.
FollowupID: 581798

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 23:21

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 23:21
The reason that they "polarise people so much" is that they fail so consistently & that the "warranty" isn't worth the paper it is written on!
You only have to mention the word Cooper in a thread title here & you will guaranteed of upwards of a 1000 views.

I have done very similar type of trips & driving since my extraordinary experiience with Coopers & have never had any problems with the last 2 sets of tyres, which were ..... Firestone Firehawk RMTs which cost a mere $155.00 each.

I will never pay premium prices to show off with a brand name again.
FollowupID: 581899

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 14:27

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 14:27
David,

Have never run Coopers on our current vehicles, so won't shoot them down here.

Did run BFG AT's on Wife's 80 series for 200K clicks, and while they had some wear issues on our roads to Winton, only had punctures from wayward nails, screws or welding roads, never from rock/sidewall damage.

Only stopped using BFG's because of the expense for a vehicle now doing <10K clicks/annum. Went to Terra Trac, and they are wearing well. Less than $200/tyre.

Re tyre pressures on the above 80 series, we only ever run the tyres @ 32 psi. Whether bitumen, gravel or black soil. The only change to this was to increase rear pressures for extra load, back when the kids were at boarding school.

Someone else quoted on EO once, from advice gained @ William Ck, "Under 40, & under 90" Believe there's a lot of wisdom in this simple sentence.

Good luck with new tyres,

Hooroo,

AnswerID: 315598

Reply By: Splits - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 15:36

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 15:36
"This tire is made specifically for a 4 wheel drive that is by it's nature is intended to go off road?? "

Your passenger construction tyres are a 4WD tyre but they are designed for light use on cars that rarely, if ever, see a dirt road. A light truck tyre on cars used in those circumstances would give too harsh a ride. On the other hand, passenger construction tyres used in the conditions light truck tyres are designed for will get torn to pieces.

Check your tyre sidewall for the maximum pressure it can be inflated to. The person on the other site who was having trouble with passenger construction Coopers said his was 35 psi if my memory is correct. If yours are the same then your 34 psi is near maximum pressure and it is a wonder you have not had more punctures.

I have 235/70/16 Kumho passenger tyres on a 2 wd car. They will support up to 925 kg at a maximim of 51 psi. The little 205/16 light truck tyres on my Hilux 4wd are 1120 kg at 65 psi. That shows the difference between the two different constructions.

If Cooper don't make a stock size LT tyre for your car then you will have to go to another brand. I don't think Land Rover intended the Disco to be a city only 4b so someone must have a LT tyre for it.

AnswerID: 315610

Follow Up By: lovely - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 21:02

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 21:02
Yes, well I've learned my lesson. LTs. Not advised on purchase. (just selling tires) Didn't make enough inquiries.Cooper were very helpful.Tire pressures? If we don't learn from our experience, we are destined to make the same mistake again. Thanks all. David
FollowupID: 581850

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 22:51

Wednesday, Jul 16, 2008 at 22:51
A great man (I think it was me) once said.
If you have never made a mistake, then you haven't learned a thing.
Boy have i been educated in my time on this earth....
FollowupID: 581893

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 08:52

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 08:52
David,
If you want a bit of a chuckle, the video that came with this months 4WDAction Magazine has Roothy driving over some mild tracks in the Snowy Mountains and put a huge split in a sidewall of his Cooper STC.

Then he came out with all the usual excuses.

At least they were honest enough to include the footage, seeing that Cooper must throw a truckload of sponsorship their way.
AnswerID: 315984

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 22:31

Saturday, Jul 19, 2008 at 22:31
I dunno Phill it seems the MTZs get pushed more by them thesedays,
got most of there DVDs stashed somewhere- just waiting for a rainy day to watch them
I watched one but while there was a bit of good stuff it was like watching an advatorial. still i wouldnt expect much else from a free DVD
FollowupID: 582359

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 06:24

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 06:24
Yeh the mag does change its allegiences over time.
Last year and the earlier part of this year, they were all Coopers and Nissan oriented, the year before you would have thought it was the Toyota Fan Club Mag.

I don't think its because the product changes but the funding from ads do.
FollowupID: 582384

Follow Up By: lovely - Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 08:44

Sunday, Jul 20, 2008 at 08:44
Phil, I view these DVD's as ads. and consequently give them the weight they deserve, although sometime you do pick up something useful, like Roothy's recipe and how to dig a hole for a tyre to winch off?? Haven't viewed the latest one yet. Seriously though they do a job of airing some issues that some people might not be aware of. When your producing a magazine I guess you have to cater to the novice as well as the more experienced. I just love their free gifts. David
FollowupID: 582397